ICAA Chapter News

New England

The New England Chapter wished John Margolis, esteemed Chapter President for the past five years, a fond farewell as he departed this summer for the west coast to start a new chapter in his life by joining Erik Evens Architects at the KAA Design Group office in Los Angeles. With his able leadership the Chapter developed a number of new programming initiatives including the launch of the Bulfinch Awards, numerous book lectures, tours of historic properties and gardens throughout New England, sketching tours, and the new online Continuing Education initiative, a joint venture between the ICAA and the Boston Architectural College (BAC). His enthusiasm, hard work, and genuine support of our Chapter will be missed. Sheldon Richard Kostelecky, also acting as Executive Vice President of Education, was elected Interim President to fill the remainder of Mr. Margolis’ term.

On June 12, Peter Pennoyer and Anne Walker gave their presentation at the Boston Athenaeum on the architecture of Cross & Cross and their huge impact on the development of the character of New York City during the 1910s and 1920s and beyond. The Boston Traditional Building Conference was held on July 16-17, and was both well attended and a success. Speakers included Steve Mouzon, Gary Brewer, Phillip James Dodd, Don Power, and Virginia McAlester. The winners of the 2014 Palladio Awards collected their awards at the dinner Wednesday evening at the Hampshire House on Beacon Street. AimMedia’s Home Group publisher Peter H. Miller handed out the cast bronze acroterion awards to the ten winners of residential and commercial/institutional projects.

The New England Chapter, along with the National ICAA and the Boston Architectural College, is launching the first online Classical Architecture Continuing Education program in the country starting this fall, to be administered by the BAC. The two initial online courses are "Introduction to Classical Architecture" to be taught by Erik Evens of the Southern California Chapter, and Domiane Forte (also of the SoCal Chapter) will teach his "Geometry for the Practitioner" course. Both courses are short, only six weeks in length, and will start the week of October 20, 2014. Credits for all online CE courses will apply toward the ICAA Certificate in Classical Architecture.

The winners for the Fifth Annual Bulfinch Awards were announced in August; there were eight winners and three merit awards recognizing excellence in New England classical and traditional design. The jurors were Michael Imber, Gary Brewer, and Russell Versaci. The awards ceremony will be held November 12, 2014 at the Massachusetts State House, with the original main building designed by Charles Bulfinch, which was completed in 1798.

For information on the Fall 2014 semester ICAA/BAC Online Continuing Education course offerings, please visit http://www.the-bac.edu/education-programs/professional-and-continuing-education/certificates/classical-architecture

For information on the 2014 Bulfinch Awards ceremony and other upcoming events, please visit www.classicist-ne.org or contact Interim President Sheldon Kostelecky at (781) 538-6247 for details.

Clem Labine, Judy Hayward, John Margolis, and Sheldon Kostelecky at the Palladio Awards dinner, held during the Traditional Building Conference in Boston. Photo courtesy of Eads Johnson.

roll over image to view description

Past Events

The highlight of the Chapter’s 2013 season was the 4th Annual Bulfinch Awards celebrated on November 14, 2013. This was the best Bulfinch Awards celebration to date. Many came to see the exhibition of the winning designs representing eight categories and to applaud the recipients at the Grand Staircase of the Massachusetts State House. Over 125 guests, friends, and sponsors attended the lively reception and award ceremony. Timothy Hopkins once again provided the exemplary catering. 

The evening featured Chapter cofounders Eric Inman Daum, AIA, and Sheldon Richard Kostelecky. Eric’s address called “Why Classical” punctuated the beginning of the awards ceremony, and was followed by Sheldon’s eloquent introduction to our upcoming online continuing education program in collaboration with the Boston Architectural College (BAC). This year’s winners included eight categories with works in architecture, interiors, furniture design, and fine art. Please see the Chapter website for a list of the 2013 Award Winners. The competition jury included distinguished members of the Southeast Chapter Professor Elizabeth Dowling, and architects Jim Strickland, AIA, and Michelle Moody. We are immensely grateful for their expertise and consideration. 

See below for Spring/Summer calendar details:

February, 2014: “Design Talks” with Aaron Helfand & John Tittmann at the Boston Architectural College (BAC). 

March 26, 2014: “Build It Right Once,” Panel Discussion with the ICAA/NE President John P. Margolis, AIA at the Boston Design Center. 

March 29, 2014: Sketch & Guided Tour of the Museum of Fine Arts (MFA) 

The 4th Annual Bulfinch Awards presented on
November 14, 2013.
Photo courtesy of Michael Quiet.

ICAA New England Chapter President, John P. Margolis
at the 2013 Bulfinch Awards.
Photo courtesy of Michael Quiet.

ICAA New England Chapter Board of Directors
with the winners of the 2013 Bulfinch Awards.
Photo courtesy of Michael Quiet.

Karen Muncaster, Sheldon Kostelecky, and Jane Toland at the 2013 Bulfinch Awards.
Photo courtesy of Michael Quiet.

roll over image to view description