ICAA Chapter News


The Chicago-Midwest Chapter enjoyed a joint lecture and reception with the Art Deco Society this past Spring with speaker Kathleen Skolnik, co-author of The Art Deco Murals of Hildreth Meiere. Despite her extensive body of work, Meière is not well known, even among art and architectural historians. Even though her name may not be familiar, many of her designs are—the medallions representing Dance, Drama, and Song for the Fiftieth Street façade of Radio City Music Hall, the color scheme of the stunning red banking room at One Wall Street in Manhattan, the interiors of the Nebraska State Capitol in Lincoln, and the whimsical bronze silhouette of Mercury and the winds for the Logan Square Post Office here in Chicago.

This September, Michael G. Imber, FAIA, joined us for a lecture on “The Art of the Landscape.” Michael has been honored with numerous local and national design awards including the Texas Society of Architect’s William W. Caudill, FAIA Award; for his achievements as a young architect and for his contributions to the American Institute of Architects. Copies of Mr. Imber's monograph, Michael G. Imber: Ranches, Villas, and Houses, by author Elizabeth M. Dowling, were available for purchase and signing after the presentation.

Upcoming Events

The Chicago-Midwest Chapter is pleased to announce our Second annual Acanthus Awards, which promote excellence in Classical and Vernacular design. These awards recognize achievement in Architecture, Interior Design, Preservation & Restoration, Landscape Design, the Allied Arts & Craftsmanship, Unbuilt Work, and Student Work. The Acanthus Awards will be held November 15, 2014 at Chicago’s historic Elk’s Memorial.  Please visit our website at www.acanthus2014.com for tickets and more information.

Thank you to our Sponsors for this event: Decorators Supply Corporation, The Richard H. Driehaus Museum, HBRA Architects, Bulley & Andrews, Derrick Architecture, DMG Architectural Specialists, Ludowici Roof Tiles, MGLM Architects, Traditional Building Conference Series, Pierre-Yves Rochon, Sylvester Construction, Liederbach & Graham Architects, Bill Meyer Photography, and Evanston Lumber.  

Please visit the Chicago-Midwest website for more information and updates on Chapter events.

Interior Renovation of The Cathedral of Saint Joseph by Duncan Stroik Architects. Acanthus Award of Arete winner, 2013.

roll over image to view description

Past Events

The Chapter’s inaugural Acanthus Awards were held on November 16, 2013 and were a huge success! We would like to congratulate all of our winners and offer special congratulations to Duncan Stroik Architects for winning the Acanthus Award of Arete (the best of show). Please see the Chicago-Midwest website and Facebook page for a complete list of winners and photos of the winning projects.

Thank you to our Sponsors for this event: Decorators Supply Corporation; Gewalt Hamilton Associates, Inc.; HBRA Architects; The Nanz Company; O’Brien Harris Fine Fitted Furniture; Derrick Architecture; DMG Architectural Specialists, LLC.; Klise Manufacturing; Ludowici Roof Tiles; MGLM Architects; Restore Media LLC; and Waterworks.

Michael Lykoudis, The Francis and Kathleen Rooney Dean of the School of Architecture at the University of Notre Dame, was with us on February 11 for a lecture on “Neoclassical Architecture in Greece: Architecture & Urbanism in an Age of Political Turmoil and Economic Austerity.” There was a private reception for this sold out lecture at the Richard H. Driehaus Museum immediately following the presentation.

March 12 marked the Chicago-Midwest Chapter’s first Membership drive, held at the galleries of Chicago Art Source. An evening of socializing and refreshments ensued.

“Designing the Classical Interior,” a seminar with James Collins was held April 12 and 13 at H. H. Richardson’s Glessner House. During the seminar we toured the oldest house in Chicago, the Greek Revival Henry B. Clarke House and the 2nd Presbyterian Church, with notable interiors by Howard Van Doren Shaw. Participants received rare handouts that have been used by craftsmen for centuries to aid in creating timeless interiors. 

The 2014 Acanthus Awards will be held on Saturday, November 15 at the Elks Veterans Memorial in Chicago. For more information please visit our website.

One of the winners of Preservation & Restoration:
Elks Memorial Headquarters, Chicago, Illinois
by Harboe Architects.

One of the winners of Interior Designs:
The Savoy, London England by Pierre-Yves Rochon (PYR).

One of the Winners of Architecture:
2242,2244,2248 N Orchard Street, Chicago
by Sullivan, Goulette & Wilson Architects.

One of the winners of Allied Arts & Craftsmanship: Reverse-painted Glass Panels, New York, NY
by Suzanne Lovell with Maureen Fullam.

Student Design project Winner:
A Flemish Embassy in Rome by Rodrigo Bollat Montenegro, University of Notre Dame.

roll over image to view description